TOYOTA GAZOO Racing World Rally Team secure another win in Finland

The TOYOTA GAZOO Racing World Rally Team, led by driver Ott Tänak, have won the fastest event in the World Rally Championship calendar – Rally Finland. This is the third consecutive year the team have taken the top spot and they have also maintained their record of taking two cars onto the podium every year since the event’s debut in 2017.

Toyota Gazoo Racing Finland 01

Tänak bringing home the win

Saturday proved exciting and fast-paced with an intense battle taking place between the team-mates. Tänak came out on top, taking the lead into the final day by 16.4 seconds. He soon increased the gap by 20 seconds in the first of the final four stages before taking first place – his 200th WRC stage win (also his 120th Yaris WRC win and his 50th in this season so far).

Toyota Gazoo Racing Finland 02

A team effort leads to fastest time

Co-driver Martin Järveoja also proved impressive, helping Tänak achieve his fastest time in the rally-ending Power Stage – outpacing his rival by 0.7 seconds and ultimately gaining the maximum 30 points in the rally. His championship lead has now increased to 22 points overall.

Toyota Gazoo Racing Finland 03

Podium victory for both cars

Tänak and Järveoja were not the only ones to reach the podium however. Jari-Matti Latvala and Miikka Anttila also tasted success by securing third place – their first podium finish this season. The double podium spots will ultimately propel the team further forward in the manufacturers’ championship.

The next event takes place on 22-25 August at Rallye Deutschland. The race is effectively three rallies in one, including challenging, twisting roads through Mosel vineyards, the notoriously tough Baumholder military area and fast country lanes in Saarland.

Toyota Gazoo Racing Finland 04